Just another WordPress.com site

What Do You Want?

As I’m sitting here waiting out and fighting through yet another storm, I wonder what it is I can do different this time.  What can I do so I don’t end up back here?  Maybe these times are just learning lessons and here to shape who God wants us to truly be.  Accepting that makes it a whole lot easier to endure, but no one likes this torment.

So here’s what I do:  I ask God to show me what it is He wants me to learn.  I ask Him for strength.  Then I ask Him to guide me to where I need to go from here.  Then finally I make a list, of what it is I truly want out of life.  I picture myself living this life and actually feel like I already am–I believe I will receive it (hope).  Then I say everything I am grateful for and then wait patiently, keeping my eyes open to what it is I am looking for.  If it is God’s will for me to have it, He puts it right in my path and opens the doors for me to receive.

Matthew 21:22- “And whatever you ask in prayer, if you believe, you will receive.”

Luke 11:10- “For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.”

Mark 11:24- “For this reason I tell you, whatever you pray and ask for, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.”

These are just a few verses from the gospels that give us the instruction on how to receive what it is that we truly want.  We can’t just make a list and expect it to come.  We have to ask, believe that we will receive it, and actively seek what is that we are trying to find.  

Years ago I read an enlightening book called “the Secret.”  And as much as I was not impressed with how it was seeking to make a fortune on elaborating what God has already told us in the Bible, it was said in a way that helped me to truly see what it is I must do to get out my rut.  So I am still a fan.  The movie was great too because it helped illustrate the key points.  My belief is that God is number one, the creator of science, so science is a tool that can be useful also.  Here’s what the Secret taught me:

The Law of Attraction is always working and everything that comes into your life you attract into your life.  This is because of the Law of Vibration which states that everything in the universe is in constant motion.  Therefore, we can move into a positive or negative vibration pattern.  Feelings are just conscious awareness of being in this vibration pattern.  By utilizing our imagination and creating pictures in our mind we are sending out thought waves– which penetrate all space and time.

…We are the architects of our own life!

The first time I made a list of what I really wanted it mostly consisted of monetary items.  Things that would make me happy for the time being, but would that be enough?  NO.  This led me to reevaluate what it is I truly believe.  After all, our beliefs create out thoughts.  Once I dug deep, I wrote another list based off of my beliefs and this is what I came up with:

What I Want Most in Life

Connection- Be close to God and grow everyday toward Him

Purpose- To know God’s purpose for me and fulfill it

True Love- (spiritual, emotional, and physical)

Family- For Kayla (my daughter) to have a great life and always be safe, healthy, and happy

Success- To make a difference, achieve something great, and help others achieve success too

Stability- in positive thinking (choosing to be happy even when its hard)

Balance- in every aspect of my life

Wisdom and Knowledge- as much as possible

Beauty- inside and out- to glow again

Healing- physical and emotional and to truly love who I am (confidence)

Peace- to feel the calmness and have the ability to open my eyes and see the beauty in life each day

Meaningful Friendships- built off trust and understanding

Forgiveness- To forgive all those who hurt me in my life and let go of it, even me

Gratitude- To always be grateful and try my best to not hurt anyone

Compassion- To be more giving and compassionate and not let the world get to me

Health- To feel no pain or less pain and have energy

Fun- To have fun, laugh, and love as much as I can

Money- enough to not have to worry so I can focus on the above more


I thought to myself, if I had all of these things it wouldn’t matter where I lived or if I had all the material items I wanted, because I would be truly happy.  

Then I doubted myself.  I doubted that I deserved all these things because of unhealthy thought patterns from my childhood.  I found this quote (below) which helped me see that I must allow myself to have what it is I truly want.  I must love myself again and forgive so I can believe that I deserve it.  God forgives me, He always does…so why shouldn’t I?

“No matter how qualifying and deserving you are, you will never reach a better life until you can imagine it for yourself, and until you allow yourself to have it.”

With that being said…What is it that you truly want?

Comments on: "What Do You Want?" (1)

  1. Steve Tanner said:

    You do deserve those things. I also wish to add that the Law of Attraction and the Law of Vibration are magical laws, but you missed something even more important:

    “Money- enough to not have to worry so I can focus on the above more.”

    This line sounds like something I believe is attributed to Native Americans, which is to never take more than you need. I truly hope you are blessed with your desires.

Leave a comment